Mock Trial with the Masters

More than a dozen La Verne Law students worked side by side with some of the profession’s most highly regarded elite at the annual Mock Trial with the Masters event. From voir dire to closing arguments, the students took part in a strategic process that involved identifying and implementing rules of evidence, honing analytical skills, and delivering their arguments persuasively.

Professors Kathy Garcia, Dylan Malagrinò, Diane Uchimiya and Charles Doskow played the parts of witnesses as students enacted their trials in front of Justices Douglas P. Miller and Stephen Larson (Ret.), who served as the mock trial judges. Professor Randall Rubin said the event featured a cast of some of the best trial attorneys in the country, including three who are members of the elite Inner Circle of Advocates.

Scholarship Night

La Verne Law hosted a special reception honoring 18 recipients of named scholarships and the donors who made them possible. Michael Bidart, Board of Visitors Chair, recognized the generous donors, and the evening concluded with a reception for the students and donors.

Don Dunn Memorial Golf Tournament

The Society for Legal Studies and Business hosted the second annual Don Dunn Memorial Golf Tournament in March. La Verne Law students, faculty, staff, and alumni participated in the tournament, which raised money for the Don Dunn Memorial Fund and SLSB Scholarship Fund. After enjoying a beautiful day of golf, participants attended an awards banquet and dinner.

Swearing-In Ceremony

In February, 27 La Verne Law graduates passed the California Bar Examination, and were sworn-in as attorneys in June of this year at the University of La Verne main campus. Los Angeles Superior Court Judge Robert Dukes administered the oath for the State Bar of California, and U.S. Magistrate Judge David Bristow administered the federal oath, admitting the alumni to practice before federal courts. Congratulations to all who passed the bar:

Shamoon Budhwani

Cynthia Natalie Carrasco

Aaron Nicosia Castleton

Jih-Hao Cheng

Gian Nicole Ducic-Montoya

Tara Michelle Durbin

Erica Michelle Estes Genthner

Anna Ghajar

Jordan Allen Gilbertson

Melissa Agatha Gunawan

Nazanin Houshyar

Brooke Adrienne Kopanski

Dennis Michael Kuntz II

Vivian Lan Lai

Vit Liskutin

Sean Patrick Lloyd

Karim Shawn Manji

Jimmy Phillip Mettias

Graham Bradford Miller

Arthur Malik Petrousian

Jacob Michael Ramirez

Randolph Roger Ramirez

Seena Barlas Shah

Jason Ryan Thompson

David Vasquez

Stephen Anthony Wagner

Julia Danette Weiner