New Student Orientation – Fall 2015
All entering University of La Verne, College of Law students are required to participate in the Law School’s new student orientation program on Monday, August 10th, 2015 to Saturday, August 15th, 2015.
Rather than registering themselves, entering first-year students are assigned to classes/sections by the Law School. Admitted students will receive instructions on how to access their preliminary class schedules via MyLaVerne in July.
This page will be updated with more information about orientation beginning in May and throughout the summer.
Admissions Confirmation Deposit
New Student Enrollment Days
New Student Orientation
Transcripts Booklists and First Week Assignments
State Bar of California Registration Requirement
Student ID Cards
Student Housing Network
If you have not already confirmed your enrollment by submitting a $300 non-refundable seat deposit, please do so as soon as possible. Registration packets will be emailed to all confirmed students beginning mid-July.
New Student Orientation
First Year Students: Your first day of law school is rapidly approaching. Orientation will be begin on Monday, August 10th, 2015 and continue through Saturday, August 15th, 2015 and is required for all first year students.
During orientation, students will participate in several workshops designed to help prepare for and be successful in law school. Among other things, students will be introduced to legal analysis, the Socratic method, and the briefing of cases. In addition, students will participate in a mock law school class. They will have the opportunity to meet their first year professors as well as other faculty members, obtain locker assignment, purchase books, meet classmates, get student ID, etc. Reading assignments for orientation will be emailed in the orientation packet during mid-July. In the meantime, students are encouraged to read one or more of the books listed on the summer reading list.
First year track assignments will be distributed on the first day of orientation. If you review the information on our website prior to this date, please be aware that the tracks and sections are subject to change administratively. There will be time during orientation to purchase your books and obtain first week assignments for your classes.
All official transcripts showing receipt of a bachelor’s degree must be submitted directly to the Office of Admissions. This includes all undergraduate and graduate coursework. The State Bar of California requires that final transcripts be placed in a student’s file within 45 days of the start of classes. Transcripts provided to LSAC do not satisfy this requirement.
Students will be provided with a link to TWEN page where they can access the book list and syllabi/first week reading assignment beginning August, 2015.
All law students who are planning to apply for admission to the California Bar and take the California Bar Exam must register with the State Bar of California no later than 90 days after beginning law school. Click here to access the California State Bar Registration. The registration fee must be paid with a credit card. Students who plan to take the Bar Exam in another state should check with the State Bar in the state in which they intend to practice.
MyLaVerne gives you access to a wide range of information including student account records, personal information, and course scheduling for the University of La Verne. The first time you log into the MyLaVerne system your USER ID will be your Student ID number, and your password (if you have not already customized it) will be your six-digit date of birth OR the last 6 digits of your student ID. If you have difficulties accessing MyLaVerne, please contact the Registrar’s Office at (909) 460-2010 for assistance. For wireless access, please visit: http://sites.laverne.edu/technology/wireless-access-at-regional-campuses/. For questions regarding wireless access, please contact Brian Parker at firstname.lastname@example.org or (909) 460-2079.
Photographs for Student ID Cards will be taken during the New Student Orientation. Each incoming student will receive a Student ID card approximately three weeks after the start of classes. The card can be replaced if lost or damaged at the main campus for a $10 replacement fee.
La Verne Law’s academic calendar can be found by clicking here . The calendar includes exam dates, holidays, and other important deadlines.
For anyone who is relocating into the area and has not found suitable housing, the Admissions staff is available to assist you with housing materials and a list of other students who are looking to share an apartment/housing unit. Please visit the following link for additional information: http://law.laverne.edu/prospective-students/housing-and-visitor-information/
Effective for the 2015-2016 academic year, La Verne College of Law tuition will be $25,000 per year for all full-time students and $19,600 per year for part-time students. This rate will be fixed for all three years of full-time students’ and four years of part-time students’ legal education. The College of Law does offer performance-based, outside-funded scholarships in the 2L and 3L years. To learn more about of True Tuition Model please click here: http://law.laverne.edu/learnmore/25000-2/.
If you have not completed your FAFSA for the 2015-2016 academic year, please do so at http://www.fafsa.ed.gov/. If you have not received your Financial Aid award letter or you need to check on the status of your award, please call the Office of Financial Aid at: 1-800-649-0160 or send an email to email@example.com.
Book Authorizations are available to all students whose Financial Aid exceeds the cost of their tuition and fees. Book Authorizations allow students to use un-disbursed financial aid to purchase textbooks. In order to be eligible for a book authorization, you must be registered for the classes you are requesting books for, your account must be current, all documents and forms necessary for disbursement of funds must be completed, and the Federal Funds Authorization form must be completed and signed. For information on the parking permits, please visit: http://sites.laverne.edu/parking/faculty-and-staff-parking-permit-process/. For questions, please contact the Student Accounts Department at (888) STU-BILL.
For a complete list of student activities and student organizations at La Verne Law, please click here.
To schedule an appointment with a faculty member or your faculty advisor, please contact the Faculty Support Desk in the Faculty Suite on the 2nd floor or by calling (909) 460-2035 or (909) 460-2060. Faculty Support can assist you with most matters relating to the faculty, including office hours.
Student mailboxes are located in the student lounge in room 211. Please be sure to check your mailbox regularly for flyers and announcements. Mailboxes are assigned after the second week of classes.
A list of available lockers are available at the Faculty Support Desk. The rental fee is $15.00 (cash or check) to rent a locker for the length of your legal studies at the College of Law. When you are finished using your locker, return the key and a refund check will be processed and mailed to you.
The University of La Verne offers Student Health Insurance to law students. However, the plan does not include coverage for spouses or dependents. If you have additional questions, please contact Registrar’s Office at (909) 460-2010.
The University of La Verne offers counseling services to students and their immediate family members. Click here to learn more about hours, location and resources provided. You may also call the Counseling Center at (909) 593-3511, ext. 4831.
Click here for driving directions to the University of La Verne College of Law.