La Verne Law New Student Orientation begins on Monday, August 13th for the Fall 2012 entering class.
Admissions Confirmation Deposit
New Student Enrollment Days
New Student Orientation
Transcripts Booklists and First Week Assignments
State Bar of California Registration Requirement
Student ID Cards
Student Housing Network
Financial Aid Student Accounts
If you have not already confirmed your enrollment by submitting a $300 seat deposit, please do so as soon as possible to receive your registration packet. Registration packets will be mailed to all confirmed students in August.
New Student Enrollment Day will allow confirmed students (students who have paid the $300 seat deposit) the opportunity to meet with representatives from the Admissions, Student Accounts and Financial Aid departments to finalize arrangements. This event will allow students to turn in sealed copies of official transcripts, take the photograph for your student ID card, log into your La Verne email address, purchase textbooks, sign up for direct deposit, buy a parking permit, get your loan deferment forms processed and complete the administrative details associated with your transition to La Verne Law.
New Student Enrollment Day will be held on Wednesday, August 8th from 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. or 2 p.m. – 5 p.m. Please choose one session. To RSVP for your New Student Enrollment Day session, please send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org or (877) 858-4529 and indicate your time of choice.
New Student Orientation
All official transcripts showing receipt of a bachelor’s degree and all academic work undertaken must be submitted directly to the Office of Admissions. This includes all undergraduate and graduate coursework. The State Bar of California requires that final transcripts be placed in a student’s file within 45 days of the start of classes. Transcripts provided to LSAC do not satisfy this requirement.
The most up to date first week assignments and book list can be found by accessing the Course Information link under Quick Links on the La Verne Law website. You may also click here to be directed to the course information page. The password to access the protected page has been e-mailed to you to your current e-mail address. If you do not have the password please contact us at 909-460-2001.
All law students who are planning to apply for admission to the California Bar and take the California Bar Exam must register with the State Bar of California no later than 90 days after beginning law school. Click here to access the California State Bar Registration. The registration fee must be paid with a credit card. Students who plan to take the Bar Exam in another state should check with the State Bar in the state in which they intend to practice.
MyLaVerne gives you access to a wide range of information including student account records, personal information, and course scheduling for the University of La Verne. The first time you log into the MyLaVerne system your USER ID will be your Student ID number, and your password (if you have not already customized it) will be your six-digit date of birth. If you have difficulties accessing MyLaVerne, please contact the Registrar’s Office at (909) 460-2010 for assistance. For wireless access, please visit: http://lawlibrary.laverne.edu/wainstructions.pdf. For questions regarding wireless access, please contact Brian Parker at email@example.com or (909) 460-2079.
Photographs for Student ID Cards will be taken during the Orientation Week.Each incoming student will receive a Student ID card approximately three weeks after the start of classes. The card can be replaced if lost or damaged at the main campus for a $10 replacement fee.
La Verne Law’s academic calendar can be found by clicking here . The calendar includes exam dates, holidays, and other important deadlines.
For anyone who is relocating into the area and has not found suitable housing, the Admissions staff is available to assist you with housing materials and a list of other students who are looking to share an apartment/housing unit. Please visit the following link for additional information: http://law.laverne.edu/prospective-students/housing-and-visitor-information/
If you have not received your Financial Aid award letter or you need to check on the status of your award, please call the Office of Financial Aid at (909) 460-2006 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. For information on how to apply for Financial Aid, Please click here: http://law.laverne.edu/prospective-students/financial-aid/inancial-aid-application-process/
Book Authorizations are available to all students whose Financial Aid exceeds the cost of their tuition and fees. Book Authorizations allow students to use un-disbursed financial aid to purchase textbooks. In order to be eligible for a book authorization, you must be registered for the classes you are requesting books for, your account must be current, all documents and forms necessary for disbursement of funds must be completed, and the Federal Funds Authorization form must be completed and signed. All students who park in the College of Law parking lot are required to have a Parking Permit. Parking permits for students may be obtained at the Office of Student Accounts. The cost of the permit is $90 per academic year. Students must have a La Verne identification card and their license plate number to purchase a permit. You may pre-order your parking permit. Parking permits are now purchased online. Click here to purchase your parking permit. For questions, please contact the Student Accounts Department at (888) STU-BILL.
For a complete list of student activities and student organizations at La Verne Law, please click here.
To schedule an appointment with a faculty member or your faculty advisor, please contact the Faculty Support Desk in the Faculty Suite on the 2nd floor or by calling (909) 460-2035 or (909) 460-2060. Faculty Support can assist you with most matters relating to the faculty, including office hours.
Student mailboxes are located in the student lounge in room 211. Please be sure to check your mailbox regularly for flyers and announcements. Mailboxes are assigned after the second week of classes.
Locker rental forms and a list of available lockers are available at the Faculty Support Desk. The rental fee is $15.00 (cash or check) to rent a locker for the length of your legal studies at the College of Law. When you are finished using your locker, return the key and a refund check will be processed and mailed to you.
The University of La Verne offers Student Health Insurance to law students. However, the plan does not include coverage for spouses or dependents. If you have additional questions, please contact Registrar’s Office at (909) 460-2010. Counseling The University of La Verne offers counseling services to students and their immediate family members. Click here to learn more about hours, location and resources provided. You may also call the Counseling Center at (909) 593-3511, ext. 4831.
Click here for driving directions to the University of La Verne College of Law.