Ontario, Calif., March 19, 2009 – Five new student organizations have been established at the University of La Verne College of Law; the Jewish Law Students Association; Pride Law Alliance; Women’s Legal Society; Criminal Law Society and the American Constitution Society.

“The new organizations will help address the needs of our students and I’m looking forward to their participation in law school events and activities,” Dean Allen K. Easley said. “La Verne Law is diverse, its student population is continually growing and I hope to see more new organizations at the school.”

The Women’s Legal Society aims to provide a forum for women to address the unique legal issues facing women and to empower women law graduates to pursue their career goals including those not traditionally occupied by women.

Founding student officers include Angel Braach, Sofia Ahmed, Yunna Mirolyan, Elaine Le, and Shannon Shafron-Perez. Assistant Professor Megan Chaney is founding faculty advisor.

The Pride Law Alliance represents the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex, Questioning and Queer (LGBTIQQ) community at La Verne Law. The alliance provides a welcoming atmosphere for LGBTIQQ students. Pride Law also aims to raise awareness of LGBTIQQ issues in the community and on campus.

Founding students include Shannon Perez, Amanda Alquist, Lindsey Rosalini, Kelly Klinko and Nina Hawkins. Founding faculty advisor is Assistant Professor of Law Victoria J. Haneman.

The Jewish Law Students Association aims to provide a forum for Jewish law students to interact; further education about Judaism and its traditions, history and ideals and encourage diversity and unity among La Verne Law students.

Founding students include Elliot Zemel, Sutton Shapro, Natalie Pesin, Sagi Schwartzberg, and Candice Brenner. Founding faculty advisor is Associate Professor Diane Klein.

The Criminal Law Society aims to provide a forum to address unique legal issues facing the criminal justice system, create opportunities for students interested in criminal law to interact with faculty, practitioners, judges and community organizations that work in the field. The society’s mission is to also empower law graduates to pursue their goals in criminal law.

Founding students include Natasha Passerello, Jacob Ramirez, Jason Rose, Charles Mayr and Yunna Mirolyan. Founding faculty advisor is Assistant Professor Megan Chaney.

The American Constitution Society is a student chapter of the national organization bearing the same name. The organization is composed of students who are concerned about the pervasive conservative orthodoxy in American law and politics.

Founding students include Roma Khan, Jimmy Nguyen, Kristin Johnson, Natasha Passerello, Miguel Tovar and Adriana Tajoya. Founding faculty advisor is Professor Charles Doskow.

“I am proud of our students and their initiative to help each other through these organizations,” Dean Easley said.

#  #  #

Share →