holmesgalaAs part of their 125th anniversary, the University of La Verne paid tribute to 125 Influential Individuals at their annual Scholarship Gala. Honorees with strong ties to the College of Law included Mike Bidart, Charles Doskow, Donald Dunn, Paul Egly, Gilbert Holmes, John Hultman and Randy Rubin. The Gala raised more than $750,000 to support institutional aid for students, the highest total in the event’s 21-year history.

A record-breaking crowd of more than 1,000 alumni, faculty, staff, students, trustees, and friends gathered at the Sheraton Fairplex Conference Center in Pomona on March 11 for the evening of giving, glamour, and inspiration.

President Devorah Lieberman took the stage to highlight the university’s achievements and to thank the many donors who have contributed to the success of its students.

“To everyone in the room, on behalf of our 84,000 alumni and 8,700 students, I offer heartfelt appreciation,” Lieberman said. “Your support for our students and our university paves the path for our future.”

Sophomore Rudy Amaya served as student speaker. He told the audience that La Verne helped him discover the power of community. He thanked the audience for supporting students like him.

“I continue to grow because of the support of others, not just academically, but in life in general,” he said.doskowgala

Keisha Grant, alumna of the year and an NBC News anchor in Connecticut, served as the evening’s emcee.

Share →